Chippewa Falls Self Guided Tour with Bruce Bay Cottages
Chippewa Falls Self Guided Tour with Bruce Bay Cottages
Bruce Mines, Ontario, Canada

Take a self-guided day trip to Chippewa Falls and discover what made this site such an inspiration to the Group Seven in Algoma.

Immerse yourself in the picturesque scenery and sounds of the beautiful Chippewa Falls. It’s the perfect place to be introduced to one of the most famous waterfall paintings in Canada. Many years ago, members of the Group Seven traveled through Algoma and were based in a converted boxcar along the Algoma Central Railway to capture the spirit of this young nation. Chippewa Falls is where Group of Seven painter A.Y. Jackson sketched the rapids on the Chippewa River in the 1950’s. “Streambed, Lake Superior Country”.

Chippewa Falls also boasts of being the half-way point of the Trans-Canada Highway. The Trans-Canada Highway runs from St. John’s, Newfoundland to Victoria, British Columbia. The building of the 7,800-km highway was part of an act approved in 1949 by Parliament. Construction began in the 1950s and was officially opened in 1962.

Chippewa Falls is a natural wonder and offers a chance to step back in time and experience natural Canadian wilderness in its truest state. The Group of Seven came to Algoma to capture their moment of Canadian identity, now it is your turn to Capture Yours.

Self-Guided Driving Tour to Chippewa Falls

  • Package includes accommodations, road map, directions and tips, and all the information needed to enjoy the day trip!
  • Plan for 1.5-2 hours driving time to reach this destination. HWY 17 offers many breathtaking sights as you travel along the Lake Superior Coast. You may want to make a few stops to take some photos and enjoy the views.
  • Plan for at least 1-2 hours to enjoy all the beautiful sites and views that Chippewa Falls has to offer. It has a picnic area, restrooms plus a viewing bridge to see the entire waterfall. You can hike along the sides of the waterfall. Don’t be surprised to see an artist sketching this waterfall or a photographer capturing this gorgeous landscape.
  • This package is available for any length of stay with Bruce Bay Cottages! Stay and enjoy the complimentary water sports equipment, beach toys, hiking trails and much more from the Recreational Lounge.

Location
82 French Island Rd
Bruce Mines, Ontario, P0R 1C0

Visite autoguidée de Chippewa Falls avec Bruce Bay Cottages
Visite autoguidée de Chippewa Falls avec Bruce Bay Cottages

Faites une excursion d'une journée sans guide aux chutes Chippewa et découvrez ce qui a fait de ce site une source d'inspiration pour le Groupe Sept à Algoma.

Plongez dans le paysage pittoresque et les sons des magnifiques chutes Chippewa. C'est l'endroit idéal pour découvrir l'une des peintures de chutes d'eau les plus célèbres au Canada. Il y a de nombreuses années, les membres du Groupe Sept ont voyagé à travers Algoma et étaient basés dans un wagon couvert converti le long du chemin de fer central d'Algoma pour capturer l'esprit de cette jeune nation. Chippewa Falls est l'endroit où le peintre du Groupe des Sept A.Y. Jackson a dessiné les rapides de la rivière Chippewa dans les années 1950. "lit de cours d'eau, pays du lac Supérieur".

Chippewa Falls se vante également d'être à mi-chemin de la route transcanadienne. La route transcanadienne relie St. John's, Terre-Neuve, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique. La construction de l'autoroute de 7 800 km faisait partie d'une loi approuvée en 1949 par le Parlement. La construction a commencé dans les années 1950 et a été officiellement inaugurée en 1962.

Chippewa Falls est une merveille naturelle et offre une chance de remonter dans le temps et de découvrir la nature sauvage canadienne dans son état le plus vrai. Le Groupe des Sept est venu à Algoma pour capturer leur moment d'identité canadienne, c'est maintenant à votre tour de Capturer le vôtre.

Visite en voiture autoguidée des chutes Chippewa

  • Le forfait comprend l'hébergement, une carte routière, des indications et des conseils, ainsi que toutes les informations nécessaires pour profiter de la journée !
  • Prévoyez 1,5 à 2 heures de route pour atteindre cette destination. L'autoroute 17 offre de nombreux sites à couper le souffle lorsque vous voyagez le long de la côte du lac Supérieur. Vous voudrez peut-être faire quelques arrêts pour prendre des photos et profiter de la vue.
  • Prévoyez au moins 1 à 2 heures pour profiter de tous les magnifiques sites et vues que Chippewa Falls a à offrir. Il dispose d'une aire de pique-nique, de toilettes et d'un pont d'observation pour voir toute la cascade. Vous pouvez faire de la randonnée le long des côtés de la cascade. Ne soyez pas surpris de voir un artiste dessiner cette cascade ou un photographe capturer ce paysage magnifique.
  • Ce forfait est disponible pour toute durée de séjour avec Bruce Bay Cottages! Restez et profitez des équipements de sports nautiques gratuits, des jouets de plage, des sentiers de randonnée et bien plus encore du salon de loisirs.