Discovering the North Shore: Jackfish

Algoma Staff
Share this story...
Discovering the North Shore: Jackfish
Discovering the North Shore: Jackfish

Lawren Harris first discovered the North Shore of Lake Superior for new inspiration in the fall of 1921, where his fellow artists joined him for many trips over the next few years. Port Coldwell, Port Munro, Jackfish and the Slate Islands captured their attention.

"We found that, at times, there were skies over the great Lake Superior which, in their singing expansiveness and sublimity, existed nowhere else in Canada." -Lawren Harris

Once a bustling fishing and railway community, Jackfish was an important stopover on the Canadian Pacific Railway. Today, Jackfish is a ghost town.

Remnants of its past life can still be found amongst old weather stone chimneys and foundations of this once flourishing town: a schoolhouse, two churches, a general store, a hotel with a beer parlour, rail station and houses. Today, nature has reclaimed much of the landscape.

We recommend you read Jackfish: Piecing Together the Past by outdoor writer James Smedley who shares his Lake Superior sea kayaking trip where he visited places along the coastline painted by Canada's Group of Seven.

Explore Jackfish: Book a voyageur canoe trip with Naturally Superior Adventures with experienced guides and hosts who will share their love of art, history, music, and the outdoors.

À la découverte de la Côte-Nord : Jackfish

Partagez cette histoire ...
À la découverte de la Côte-Nord : Jackfish
À la découverte de la Côte-Nord : Jackfish

Lawren Harris a découvert pour la première fois la rive nord du lac Supérieur pour une nouvelle inspiration à l'automne 1921, où ses collègues artistes l'ont rejoint pour de nombreux voyages au cours des années suivantes. Port Coldwell, Port Munro, Jackfish et les îles Slate ont retenu leur attention.

"Nous avons découvert que, parfois, il y avait des cieux au-dessus du grand lac Supérieur qui, dans leur étendue et leur sublimité chantantes, n'existaient nulle part ailleurs au Canada." -Lawren Harris

Autrefois une communauté de pêche et de chemin de fer animée, Jackfish était une escale importante sur le chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique. Aujourd'hui, Jackfish est une ville fantôme.

Des vestiges de sa vie passée se trouvent encore parmi les anciennes cheminées en pierre et les fondations de cette ville autrefois florissante : une école, deux églises, un magasin général, un hôtel avec un bar à bière, une gare et des maisons. Aujourd'hui, la nature a récupéré une grande partie du paysage.

Nous vous recommandons de lire Jackfish: Piecing Together the Past par l'écrivain de plein air James Smedley qui partage son voyage en kayak de mer sur le lac Supérieur où il a visité des endroits le long de la côte peints par le Groupe des Sept du Canada.

Explorez Jackfish : réservez une excursion en canot avec Naturally Superior Adventures avec des guides et des hôtes expérimentés qui partageront leur amour de l'art, de l'histoire, de la musique et du plein air.